In Scrabble we trust

If I had the feeling September went by slower than usual, the speed with which October is wooshing by makes up for it.

I managed to get a few words out this morning (now up to 6,565) while The Angry Chef went out for a run (he’s at 10 km, by the way).

But I wasn’t thrilled with this morning’s work at all; I’m feeling kind of stuck, which I assume is normal. So I turned to my writing survival guide, Monica Wood’s “The Pocket Muse – Ideas & Inspirations for writing” to shake things up a bit.

One of the suggestions in the book is this:

“Choose ten random letters of the alphabet, and write them at the top of a blank page. Using words that begin with these letters, in the same order, write an opening sentence.”

I don’t know about you, but to me, “choosing” something at random doesn’t work. This is where Scrabble letters come in handy. Or so I thought.

Here are the first letters that I pulled out of the bag:

The photo doesn’t lie: R I V Q R F K E A I

I panicked. R, I and V I can live with, but Q? F followed by a K?? All I could think of were words like “riveting” and “quaint”, or a “fake kick”. Never mind. Let’s give the Scrabble bag another shot.

L O N O L E P A M U

That’s more like it. Or is it? I gave it a go. I just noticed I was on this little exercise for about 45 minutes – for just ten words.

I’d be lying to you if I said it didn’t help. I’m not fully back on the writing high wagon yet, but I have a good feeling about this.

On with the circus. Let’s get some typing done!

Thank you for reading and enjoy your Sunday!

Leave a Reply

