Back on the chain gang

Going back to work after a long weekend is never easy, is it? It’s incredible how quickly and how intensely work creeps into your thoughts. Take this conversation this morning on our way to work:

The Angry Chef: So, I’m thinking we could have veal, roasted potatoes and string beans for dinner tonight. What do you think?

Me: You know, I think I’m gonna be sick just thinking of that meeting.

The Angry Chef: What meeting?

Me: The one this afternoon; didn’t I tell you about it?

The Angry Chef: How do you go from string beans to meetings in 10 seconds?

Indeed – how? How do you go from string beans to meetings in 10 seconds?

After my last writing spree, I’ve hit a low harder than normally. I’ve looked over the manuscript for what felt like hours. The story feels pointless, and when I get stuck, all I seem to do is linger on a scene that makes the whole story, well, pointless!

Why am I saying pointless so many times? Is my vocabulary shrinking? Is it?

Deep breaths. Veal for dinner. Life can be good again.

Must. Squeeze. Words. Out.

Thank you for reading, and have a good evening.

Leave a Reply

