Bring it on, 2013!

Living to Tell the Tale

I know most people make promises they can’t keep for the upcoming year.

As my habit of talking to my own characters probably goes to show, I’m not exactly like most people. Although fictional statistics tell you most people make 10 promises they can’t keep for New Year’s, I decided to try to blend in with most people and do the same. Here it goes.

In 2013, I will:

10: Start running again.

9: Stop complaining about my appearance without doing anything to improve it (see promise #10).

8: Tell at least three of my friends how awesome they are and why.

7: Visit somewhere new (please, God, if you’re listening, let that somewhere new be New York City. If that’s too much to ask, a round trip to Barbados wouldn’t go amiss. Amen.).

6: Be more realistic about things I can and can’t achieve. Also, learn how to take the odd compliment every once in a while.

5: Start doing more around the house. Also tell The Angry Chef more frequently how insanely lucky I am to have him in my life.

4: Learn something new, like sewing.

3: Read “Living to Tell the Tale”, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

2: Make more of an effort to speak French with our neighbours.

1: Finish my manuscript (28,002 words and counting!).

Thank you so much for reading this blog since I started it last October, and have a very happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

