The comfort food update

Creuset

Yes, I, too, realised that I mentioned the comfort food challenge nearly a week ago and haven’t had the time to actually talk about the eating that went on last weekend. So no more dilly-dallying. Let’s talk food.

But before we do, there is something to be said for presentation. I’d love to tell you comfort food is simply prepared and beautifully presented, but I’d be lying through my teeth – and I don’t that, especially not with my mouth full of boeuf bourguignon. So please, take the photos below with a grain of (sea) salt.

Gigot

The weekend was off to a good start: roasted gigot d’agneau (leg of lamb) done in herbs with roast potatoes for dinner on Saturday…

Soup

… followed by vichyssoise (leek and potato soup) for lunch on Sunday. The Angry Chef (as the name suggests) is a fantastic cook, but this is definitely one of the classics here at home. Everyone who tastes it asks for the recipe, which I, as the nice lady that I am, would be happy to give. I suspect it was for this very reason that The Angry Chef “lost” the recipe, which was apparently “no big deal because I know it by heart anyway.”

Boeuf bourgignon

For dinner on Sunday, we had boeuf bourguinon with roast potatoes – another Angry Classic. No, he doesn’t follow the Julia Child recipe. And I know he doesn’t know this one by heart, but he’s very strategic about where he places the recipe, because I can never, ever find it.

And seeing as one meal (and one photo) was missing, he decided to spill the comfort food challenge into the week (who doesn’t need some comfort food on a cold Monday evening?)

Goat's cheese salad

So for dinner on Monday, we had goat’s cheese enveloped in strips of bacon, fried in a splash of olive oil and served with lamb’s lettuce and walnuts.

Perhaps it’s thanks to the food, perhaps the company, perhaps the great wine that went with it all, or maybe a combination of all three, but after these lovely, homely meals, I really feel better from my cold. What I don’t feel good about is that winter curse that begins to ensue: extra pounds sneakily accumulating under several layers of clothes. But more on that later!

Thank you for reading and have a lovely evening!

Leave a Reply

